Day 1 in France – Everything Happens For A Reason

We left LAX on Lufthansa at approximately 3:15 p.m. on Monday, May 8. The ride to Frankfurt Germany was largely uneventful and we arrived on time to make our transfer flight to Paris France.

Paris, France

It took quite awhile for our baggage to arrive on the carousel in Paris and I had vivid memories of when our baggage didn’t arrive at the Budapest airport. I kept my mouth shut and a few minutes later my bag suddenly appeared, followed by my cousins and then my wife’s bag.

Arc de Triomphe
Arc de Triomphe

We took a short nap and joined everyone for dinner. Walking to the restaurant, we walked around the imposing Arc de Triomphe.  Up close, you can see people on top of the arc. I forgot that there’s a way to climb to the top of it.

I had my sites on Le Hide restaurant in the 17th arrondissement and when we arrived at 7:00 p.m., they couldn’t seat us because we didn’t have reservations. I did a quick on-line search and we settled on La Cave Lanrezac which happened to be on the same block.

 Selecting our wines was a fun experience. As a group, we got to go downstairs into their wine cellar. They, they owner asked about the varieties we enjoyed and the specific characteristics of the wine. We selected two bottles and made the hike back up the spiral stairway.

Duck Magret in a raspberry sauce

I ordered Duck Magret, my wife ordered the Butcher’s choice of Beef and the everyone else ordered “Frayed by Cod and Chorizo”. Everyone was delighted with their choices and we thought that the wines paired nicely as well.

Flour Noir

Instead of having our desserts there, we did the tourist thing and ate outdoors at Ladurée on L’avenue des Champs-Élysées. I was amused that everyone seemed to really enjoy my dessert, the Fleur Noire. This was a multi-layered pastry filled with bourbon cream, dark chocolate mousse and topped with chocolate icing and chocolate petals.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1 in France – Everything Happens For A Reason

  1. Bryan and Peggy, thanks for update and glad you (and your bags) had a safe arrival. I loved your dessert!!
    Pat

    Like

  2. Hi Bryan,

    Thanks for the wonderful pictures and commentary. You have a great camera. The pictures are very vivid. Your trip so far looks and sounds fantastic. Everything I would do if I was there too!! That chocolate dessert looks strictly T.D.F. (Ha! Ha!) Glad you arrived safely and I look forward to reading more about your trip as it progresses. Safe travels………Dean

    Like

Leave a Reply

