Yesterday’s croissant set a low bar for me to exceed. It was my intent to up the bar before we headed back home. Fortunately, we did the very next day. Thanks to my wife, we quickly found Pâtisserie Mottier. The reason I missed it is because the street George V becomes Rue Washington north of the Avenue des Champs-Élysées.

Pâtisserie Mottier is a small family operated bakery. Bread is baked upstairs and sent down to the store via a dumbwaiter. If you are there long enough, you can hear the communication from the store. Minutes later, fresh baguettes and croissants are sent down through their dumbwaiter. She opens the door and voila, fresh baked goods!

My wife selected one pavé and a latte and  I ordered one croissant, one pain du chocolate and my usual Americano. My croissant was super flakey and it seemed like the baker had basted it with butter. It was truly a remarkable experience. My big issue with Starbucks is that they serve using paper cups and Pâtisserie Mottier served our coffee in ceramic cups.

Our cruise ship arranged for a pick up from our hotel. We met up with our group at 11:00 a.m. and departed with our luggage. Unlike our taxi driver, our driver was exceptionally careful and a consummate professional. Minutes later we arrived at our port on the Seine. Our bags were unloaded for us and were taken care of by crew personnel. One can quickly get spoiled traveling this way.

We entered the ship on what appeared to be the equivalent of a hotel lobby and checked in. Since we weren’t going to have access to our rooms until 3:00 p.m., my wife and I decided to go sightseeing near the ship.

North of the cruise port is the 16th arrondissement. This is commonly thought to be one of the wealthiest parts of Paris and features some of the most expensive real estate in France. As we walked, we walked by some beautiful Jones and apartments.

What helps me to know where place are is the fact that the zip codes match the arrondissement. I discovered the 16th is the only arrondissement in Paris to be divided into two separate postal codes, 75016 and 75116.

 

Leave a Reply

